1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Anthony Carew

Thom Yorke's Atoms for Peace to Release Debut LP

By November 7, 2012

Follow me on:

Thom Yorke first debuted Atoms for Peace, his supergroup-ish side-project of sorts, back in 2010. The band features Flea, producer Nigel Godrich, and drummers Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco, and was initially assembled to play tracks for Yorke's solo LP, The Eraser, live.

Now, Atoms for Peace are finally getting ready to turn out their debut album. Amok will be released on XL Recordings early in 2013; with a January 28 date strongly rumored (but as yet unconfirmed). It may or may not include the recent single, "Default," which was released back in September.

Though the LP is still, at this stage, semi-mysterious, Yorke gave a revealing interview to Rolling Stone about the recordings.

"We'd go in at midday and pretty much work through to 10. We were playing all the time. It was bonkers," Yorke said. "When we first hung out, we were at Flea's house. We got wasted, played pool and listened to Fela Kuti all night. It was that idea of trance-ing out."


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.