1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Anthony Carew

New Mountain Goats Album

By July 12, 2012

Follow me on:

One of indie music's most genuinely gregarious bands, the Mountain Goats, have a new album coming out. It is like the one billionth record they've released since effusive frontman John Darnielle first started recorded story-songs on a crappy boombox back when Kurt was still alive. And/or: the 15th official Mountain Goats studio LP since 1991.

Transcendental Youth is what it's called. October 2 is the date that it is released on. Merge Records is the record label that it is releasing it on that date. It is the follow-up to last year's All Eternals Deck, and marks the 45-year-old's first album since becoming a father in 2011.

"In August the baby was born and I'd cradle him in my left arm while writing melodies at the piano with my right," Darnielle wrote on the Goats website, "and I said, let Osiris the keeper of the gates be my witness, other songwriters may go soft when they get to be parents but I am going to keep going all the way down into the inner darkness, it will set a good example for the baby, and besides, what am I going to do, suddenly start writing songs about cute things instead of songs about how to wrest cries of triumph from the screaming places? Please. May the baby grow up to spit in my face if I should pose that hard."

Transcendental Youth Track List:
1. "Amy aka Spent Gladiator 1"
2. "Lakeside View Apartments Suite"
3. "Cry For Judas"
4. "Harlem Roulette"
5. "White Cedar"
6. "Until I Am Whole"
7. "Night Light"
8. "The Diaz Brothers"
9. "Counterfeit Florida Plates"
10. "In Memory of Satan"
11. "Spent Gladiator 2"
12. "Transcendental Youth"

Photo D.L. Anderson


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.