1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Anthony Carew

Grizzly Bear's Veckatimest Gets Release Date

By February 24, 2009

Follow me on:

There's little doubt that Grizzly Bear's forthcoming third album is gearing up to be one of the most anticipated alternative albums of 2009. And, after months of mysterious secrecy surrounding it, those unwashed orchestral-pop dandies have unveiled full details for their imminent opus.

Due to be released May 26, on Warp Records, the record has the oddball title of Veckatimest, so named in honor of an uninhabited isle off coast of Massachusetts. Pronounced, if you're struggling, VECK-ah-TIM-est, the set features orchestral daubings from composing collaborateur du jour, Nico Muhly, and Victoria Legrand of Beach House offered a guest vocal on "Two Weeks."

Having premiered “Two Weeks” on Letterman and “While You Wait for the Others” on Conan, last year, the ought-nine has already found Grizzly Bear contributing a pair of tracks to the Dark Was the Night compilation. And, the New Yorker quartet are lined up to play SXSW, Sasquatch!, and Bonnaroo, with further tour-dates to be announced.

1. "Southern Point"
2. "Two Weeks"
3. "All We Ask"
4. "Fine for Now"
5. "Cheerleader"
6. "Dory"
7. "Ready, Able"
8. "About Face"
9. "Hold Still"
10. "While You Wait for the Others"
11. "I Live With You"
12. "Foreground"


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Alternative Music

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.